There’s no place like home- if you can get there

Hello ALL! I do apologize for the lengthy delay in updates. I have been settling back into life at home in Wisconsin.

Thursday I drove for over 13 hours. I had set my mind that I would not stop with only a few hours left but would force myself to make it home. In the end I made it to what is normally about a 40 min drive from my mom’s house- My godparent’s farm. Thankfully both my Mom and Auntie Carol were there to meet me. Upon exiting my car, I had a minor melt down, which involved tears and a dedication to never drive again. Thankfully they took me inside and gave me a beer and I regained my composure. (I would not drive again that night) The next morning Carol took me back out to get the car and trailer.

Friday was a combination of sleep and unloading. For those of you that don’t know- my Mom, Nancy, is also moving in two weeks. So her house is in a slight state of chaos and has boxes buliding up everywhere. For this reason most of my belongings are currently in the garage awaiting transport to the new house. Bella and I are currently camped out on a mattress (that will become a daybed at the new place) in the corner of the living room/dinning room. Thankfully both my Mom & I are good sports about sharing a small space made even smaller with all our boxed crap. And by crap I mean the things we can’t live without. That evening Bella, Mom & I hit up the Food Co-Op and then had our very own picnic in Riverside Park. (Yes that is the Mississippi behind Bella)

Image

Saturday was a combination of running a few errands and catching my cousin Jaran’s band playing at a local festival. We had to drive pretty far out but in the words of my cousin Jonathan- “This is the best time I have had sitting under a pine tree next to a highway.” It was great to see all the Carsons, especially the family thats now in Chicago.

IMG_4630

Noah Rocking out to Jaran’s Band

IMG_4717

Lily’s big smile

IMG_4722

Noah building a stick teepee

IMG_4700

Grandma Carol with her LilyIMG_4707Noah and dad Jonathan getting crafty with sticks

IMG_4673

Being Silly

IMG_4625

Lily is unsure she wants to be in the pic

IMG_4622

The band

 

Sunday was a grill out with Pa, Aunt Jan, Grandma RoseMary and the youngest Werner Family(Bryan, Amanda & the three little ladies). It was wonderful to see them & catch up a little.

This last week has been filled with errands around town, including looking at phone plans, helping Mom move cable and electric service  to her new place, buying stuff for the trip, seeing the dermatologist and bugging more people than I can count with questions about the trip and the program.

Today Bella & I are going to hit the dog park and then I’m going to attempt to finalize my flight plans.

This weekend will be filled with a trip to Muscatine, IA to visit some of my Mom’s family. I will also be breaking the news to the last remaining Great Uncle that I am Jewish. Here’s to hoping that goes well. 

ok thats all for now and I promise to be better about this whole posting in a timely matter thing!

Leave a Reply

